The Bachelor of Science in Hospitality Management (BSHM) program at the College of Hospitality and Tourism Management Education (CHaTME) in Holy Cross of Davao College demonstrated their culinary excellence by securing impressive victories in various events. The team emerged as the overall 1st Runner-Up in the prestigious Davao Culinary Cup 2023, held at SM Lanang Premier from May 25 to 27, 2023.

More than just a competition, this event provided a platform to showcase the skills and talents of aspiring chefs in the region.

Dan Daryl Taporoc, Laboratory Assistant of CHaTME, expressed his delight at the performance of the BS in Hospitality Management students.

“We are so happy and proud nga nagrepresent sa school and nag compete mi with other culinary schools, amoang mga kalaban is mga top culinary schools, and maka-proud nga kaya diay namo makigcompete with the top culinary schools sa Mindanao,” Taporoc said. 

Dominating the competition, HCDC garnered a total of 5 gold medals, 3 silver medals, and 7 bronze medals, outshining other culinary schools in Mindanao throughout the three-day event.

The following are the participants who secured their wins during their respective events:


Coach : Chef Raymond Miñoza, MM

Wedding Cake

1. Eliezer Erl Anthony Tomas – Gold

2. Chelsea Laiza Rojo

Dress the Cake

1. Dan Daryl Taporoc- Gold

2. Krizia May Lebante

Fantasy Dessert

1. Jenny Mae Pasible – Bronze

2. John Kenneth Nogodula

Theme Cakes

1. Christian kenneth Manto – Bronze

2. Carl Vincent Del Campo – Gold

Plated Dessert

1. Ralph Balibadlan – Gold


Pasta Challenge (Coach: Ginalyn P. Yretarino, MBA)

1. Nicole Into – Gold

2. Rochyl Joui Reyes – Bronze

Creative Breakfast (Coach: Cindy Jaromay, MM)

1. John Cristopher Umale – Silver

2. Leslie Benituasan – Bronze

Filipino Cuisine (Coach: GR Glenn Araneta, MM)

Team 1

Albert Gempesaw – Bronze

Joshua Yoldi – Bronze

Team 2

Ivan Masaudling – Silver

Chrisgie Eway – Silver

Young Chef (Coach: Kimberly Mae Merlow, MM)

Team 1

Denzie Chusetts Fortuno – Bronze

John Deriel Barbarona Peleño – Bronze

Team 2

Jovel Betonio Bante Jr.

Angela Romero

Seafood/Local Fish (Coach: Ginalyn P. Yreatrino, MM)

1. Edrian P. Fabiania

2. Frederick M. Antoniano

Western Cuisine (Coach: Denzen Louriz Palanas, MM)

1. Dawn P. Zulueta

2. Emman Flores

Plant Based (Coach: Gabriel Carlo Lasa, MM)

1. Josh Baldevia

2. Fianna Luy

Taporoc also expressed his gratitude to Chef Raymond Miñoza, MM, Culinary Specialist of CHaTME, for his continuous guidance and support for the team. 

“Tungod sa iyahang guidance, nakaya namo nga magdominate sa Davao Culinary Cup and sa support sa school administration and faculty,” he said.

The CHaTME department expressed their heartfelt appreciation to HCDC President Br. Noelvic H. Deloria, S.C., HCDC Vice President for Academic Affairs Dr. Teresa Fabiania, HCDC Vice President for Operations Rommel F. Momo, and the Program Heads for their continuous support throughout the competition.

The entire HCDC community joins in congratulating all the participants for bringing pride and honor to HCDC.